April 25th 2018 |


Clare Moriarty

Permanent Secretary, Department for Environment, Food, and Rural Affairs

Clare Moriarty has been Permanent Secretary for the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs since August 2015.

Her previous roles include

  • Director General, Rail Executive in the Department for Transport
  • Director General, Corporate Group, Department for Transport
  • Constitution Director, Ministry of Justice
  • Head, NHS Foundation Trust Unit, Department of Health
  • Principal Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for Health
  • secondments to the NHS and the UCL School of Public Policy.

Clare has a long-standing interest in leadership, change and diversity. She is a member of the Westminster Abbey Institute Council of Reference and the Advisory Council of the Cambridge Centre for Science and Policy.

Ian Watmore

Ian Watmore’s career is diverse, spanning private, public, sports, university, church and third sectors. After studying mathematics and management at Trinity College Cambridge, Ian spent 24 years in the private sector culminating as Accenture UK CEO from 2000 to 2004. He then worked for 7 years in the Civil Service, holding three different Permanent Secretary posts under three Prime Ministers, first at the Prime Minister’s Delivery Unit in No 10, then at the Department of Innovation, Universities and Skills, and latterly at the Cabinet Office.

He has held several Board positions in sports administration, 13 years supporting TeamGB at the English Institute of Sport, 5 years at the Rugby World Cup, 1 year at the Football Association, and 3 years at Quantum Sports, an agency which manages his son’s career as a Premiership and England footballer. He now supports his wife in her role as a Church of England rector and is himself a Church Commissioner.

He is an independent member of Cambridge University’s Information Services Committee, has an Honorary Degree from the University of Westminster, and regularly lectures at Cranfield University to cohorts of senior Civil Servants on project and programme management. He chairs the Migraine Trust charity and successfully project managed the creation of a community sports hall in south Manchester. He is completing a three year role on the Board of the Information Commissioner’s Office at the end of September.

Chris Wormald

Permanent Secretary, Department of Health

Chris Wormald was appointed Permanent Secretary at the Department of Health in May 2016.

His previous posts include:

●        Permanent Secretary for the Department for Education

●        Director General in the Deputy Prime Minister’s Office, Cabinet Office

●        Head of the Economic and Domestic Secretariat, Cabinet Office

●        Director General, Public Service Reform, Cabinet Office

●        Director General for Local Government and Regeneration at the Department for Communities and Local Government

●        Principal Private Secretary to Estelle Morris and Charles Clarke

Sir Mark Walport

Chief Executive Designate, UKRI

Sir Mark Walport is the Chief Executive Designate of the newly formed UK Research and Innovation (UKRI), which is responsible for the public funding of research and innovation.

He was Government Chief Scientific Adviser (GCSA) and Head of the Government Office for Science from April 2013 to September 2017.

His previous career highlights include:

  • Director of the Wellcome Trust
  • Professor of Medicine and Head of the Division of Medicine at Imperial College London
  • member of the India-UK CEO Forum and UK-India Round Table
  • member of the advisory board of Infrastructure UK
  • non-executive member of the Office for Strategic Coordination of Health Research

Mark received a knighthood in the 2009 New Year Honours List for services to medical research and was elected a Fellow of The Royal Society in 2011.

Jonathan Slater

Permanent Secretary, Department of Education

Jonathan became the Permanent Secretary for the Department for Education in May 2016.

His previous roles in government include:

●        Director General and Head of the Economic and Domestic Secretariat, Cabinet Office

●        Director General of Head Office and Commissioning Services, Ministry of Defence

●        Director General for Transforming Justice, Ministry of Justice

●        Chief Executive of the Office, Criminal Justice Reform

●        Director of Performance and Improvement, National Offender Management Service

●        Director, Prime Minister’s Delivery Unit

Before joining the Civil Service in 2001, Jonathan was a local authority Deputy Chief Executive and Director of Education.